When in town for the Curry Merry Muster Festival, why not make the most of your time in the Outback and take a few extra days to enjoy any number of the great tourist attractions on offer.
John Flynn Place commemorates the founding of the Royal Flying Doctor Service. John Flynn Place houses a unique combination of historic material including photographs, documents and artefacts. A valuable art collection is on display in the Fred McKay Art Gallery.
Mary Kathleen Memorial Park & Museum houses memorabilia from the historic Mary Kathleen Uranium Mine and Township. Iconic photographs and memorabilia are also on display including pieces once belonging to Robert O’Hara Burke (Burke and Wills).
The site houses the regions historic Police Station and one of Australia’s most comprehensive rock and mineral displays.
The park incorporates the Cloncurry Visitor Information Centre and a souvenir shop. Purchase a Fossickers Licence and mud maps for some of the Outback’s best 4 wheel driving.
Displays in the free Outdoor Museum at the park include steam engines, a traction engine, farm and mining machinery.
The original Qantas Hanger is located at the Cloncurry. The site houses a monument to commemorate Qantas when it flew its first passenger (Alexander Kennedy) from Longreach to Cloncurry on 3 November 1922 at a cost of 11 pounds 2 shillings. The site offers a historical background on Qantas with a range of interesting artefacts on show.
Located three kilometres west of Cloncurry, Chinaman Creek offers a range of nature walks and birdlife spotting opportunities. And a great place to have a picnic lunch, or quick dip in the water (If it’s not too cold)
Constructed on the beautiful Corella River in the late 1950’s for the purpose of supplying water for the Township of Mary Kathleen. The turnoff to Lake Corella is located 54 kilometers west of Cloncurry along the Overlanders Way to Mount Isa. The dam offers a place to relax, experience some of the region’s history and an opportunity to take in a real piece of the outback.
Originally the water supply for the nearby town of Ballara from 1913 through to 1927, Fountain Springs is one of the only permanent water sources in the area. Fountain Springs is ideal for a day trip from Cloncurry. Located 60km west along the Overlanders Way towards Mount Isa, turn left 100m before the Fountain Springs Rest Area and follow this track in 27km. Visitors will experience beautiful colours in the quartzite Fountain Range and Mount Philip with its volcanic peak. A large split in the Fountain Range marks the entrance to the picturesque waterhole of Fountain Springs, the main rock pool is quite deep and the area is abundant with wildlife.
With Cloncurry’s rich history comes a collection of historic hotels that are still in operation today. Visitors are welcome to witness a piece of history, enjoy a meal and a cold beverage and meet the locals at any one of the four historic locations.
Central Hotel – built in the early 1900s, the Central Hotel was destroyed by fire in February 1910 and was rebuilt to where it stands today.
Post Office Hotel – previously named the Union Hotel in the late 1800s. The Union became known as the Post Office Hotel in 1901 where an extensive rebuild was completed in 1908. The hotel however was destroyed in 1914 by fire. After yet another rebuild, it became one of the finest hotels in North West Queensland. A fire just prior to 1932 claimed a further victory. The hotel as it stands today is the fourth in succession.
Leichardt Hotel – built in 1926. The original façade has been classified by the National Trust and has been rebuilt around the original façade.
Wagon Wheel Motel and Prince of Wales Historic Inn – established as the Prince of Wales Hotel in 1876. This building was built after a large fire destroyed the previous hotel in 1926. The hotel was closed in 1974 and opened as the Wagon Wheel Restaurant some time later. It remains as the oldest liquor license premises in North West Queensland.